New York State DMV Driver Responsibility Assessment Fee

What Is the DMV Driver Responsibility Assessment?

It is a fee assessed by the New York State DMV that is paid over a three-year period. This fee is most commonly triggered by an accrual of 6 or more within 18 months to a person’s driving record. The fee is meant to punish or penalize “bad drivers” so that their bad driving behavior does not become a habit.

The driver assessment fee should not be confused with fines and penalties associated with a ticket itself. The assessment fee must be paid in addition to traffic ticket fines and penalties.

Who Must Pay the Fee?

As of November 18, 2004, accrual of points is not the only way to earn this penalty. The DMV assessment fee can be awarded to drivers who

  • are convicted of a traffic-related alcohol or drug offense;
  • refuse to take a chemical blood test for alcohol; or
  • accrue 6 or more points within 18 months.

New York State does not discriminate. This fee is assessed to NYS and out of state drivers.

Assessment Fee Details

The Driver Responsibility Assessment fee is charged over a three-year period and the cost of the fee depends on the reason why you have to pay it.

  • The annual assessment fee for traffic-related alcohol or drug offenses and refusals is $250, for a total of $750.
  • The annual assessment fee for 6 points is $100, for a total of $300.
  • The annual assessment fee for more than 6 points is $100 plus an extra $25 for each additional point over six, for a total of an annual cost of $75 for each additional point above 6. (e.g. 7 points is ($100 + $25) x 3 years = $375; 8 points is ($100 + $50) x 3 years = $450, 8 points is ($100 + $75) x 3 years = $525, etc)

The DMV can and will suspend your driving privileges if you do not pay the fee. Also keep in mind that amount you owe will increase if you accrue more points after the DMV mails you an assessment fee statement. The math speaks for itself how points or violations can quickly cost a pretty penny.

Assessment Fee Statement Definitions

  • annual statement date: date your fee statement was issued
  • assessment date: date the violation is entered on your record (the date of the original assessment)
  • conviction date: date a court or DMV TVB hearing court found you guilty of the violation
  • payment date: final date that you can pay the assessment fee to avoid a suspension of your driving privilege
  • violation date: date that you received the ticket

NYS DMV Driver Assessment Fee Myth

True or False:

The DMV Assessment fee will go away if you take a NYS Point and Insurance Reduction Program (safe driving course) that credits 4 points to your driving record.

FALSE! The NYS safe driving course is useful to mitigate points for suspension purposes, but it will NOT avoid a DMV assessment fee.

Have you recently received a ticket traffic violation? Then, you need to set yourself success by knowing what your options are, the consequence of pleading guilty and paying the fine before you making a hasty decision. The first step is to get a free consultation with an experienced traffic lawyer. So, call the Claro Law Firm. Elisa Claro of The Claro Law Firm is an experienced traffic lawyer who has handed thousands of traffic cases and is personally familiar with many of the police officers, assistant district attorneys, and city, town, and village prosecutors. Make the right decision by hiring the best traffic ticket law firm, The Claro Law Firm. Just think of all the money, points and time you will save by letting the best traffic ticket lawyer, The Claro Law Firm put their experience to work of you. And, not to mention peace of mind. Contact us today for a free traffic consultation: 917 300-3334 or visit us online. Serving Westchester County, including Yonkers, White Plains, and Bronxville.

Client Reviews

My grandmother and I hired Elisa Claro, Esq. for a ticket that I received shortly before moving out of state. She responded in a professional manner and quickly at that. She got my 5 point ticket dismissed. I would highly recommend her to anyone who has received a ticket and needs a lawyer.

Makenly C.

Contact Us

  1. 1 Do Not Plead Guilty
  2. 2 Discover Your Options
  3. 3 Call Your Traffic Attorney Today
Fill out the contact form or call us at 917-300-3334 to schedule your free traffic consultation.

Leave Us a Message