Red Light Traffic Ticket, NYS VTL § 1111-(d)

Running a red light is one of the most common traffic violations in New York State, for good reason too. It is safe to say that at some point in a driver's driving career, he or she will run at least one red light, unintentional or not. And now with the introduction of "Red Light Cameras" in New York State and Westchester County, there are two ways to get a red light ticket: by a police officer or by mail via a red light camera ticket.

The Law and its Exception

Every driver knows what a running a red light means. In fact, a potential driver must study this subject, be knowledgeable in it, and pass a written exam that test on this subject before being issued a driver license.

However, the law, NYS VTL § 1111 states when circular red light is steady, a driver cannot move his or her car until the light turns green. The only exception to the law is when other indicators (like a sign) allow a driver to continuing driving after having stopped for a red light.

Penalties and Fines for Red Light Traffic Violation Issued by Police Officer

Penalties and fines include points and, of course, money. A red light traffic ticket violation carries 3 points, can cause car insurance premium increases and trigger a DMV Driver Responsibility Assessment Fee. But, how much money paid in fines depends on the population of the city in which the traffic violation was issued. Get ready to cry…

Within a city of one million or more:

  • First offense, fine ranges from $150 to $450
  • Second offense within 18 months, fine ranges from $300 to $750
  • Third offense within 18 months, fine ranges from $750 to $1,500
  • Town and village surcharges are $93 and all other court surcharges are $88

Outside a city of one million or more:

  • First offense, fine ranges from $75 to $225
  • Second offense within 18 months, fine ranges from $150 to $375
  • Third offense within 18 months, fine ranges from $375 to $675
  • Town and village surcharges are $93 and all other court surcharges are $88
Red Light Camera Tickets

As discussed above, one way to be the lucky recipient of a red light traffic ticket is to be issued one by a police officer. The second way is to be mail one. This happens when a traffic camera at an intersection takes a photo of a car and license plate of the car, driving through an intersection after the traffic light turned red.

Red light camera violations are controversial because of a person’s Sixth Amendment right to confront his or her accuser. Even so, there are exceptions to this violation. For example, grounds for dismissal, upon a showing of evidence include:

  • Your car is not clearly shown in the picture or video
  • A medical emergency
  • Mechanical difficulties
  • Your car was stolen and it was not you driving
Penalties and Fines for Red Light Camera Violations

A red light camera ticket is much like a parking ticket in that it is issued to the car, not the driver. So, it does not carry any points and it will not show on a driver’s driving history. Currently the fine for a red light camera ticket is $50.

Find Out Your Options -- Consulting a Traffic Ticket Lawyer in Westchester County

Want the best outcome possible? Then let The Claro Law Firm fight hard for your rights! Call Elisa Claro, Esq. at 917-300-3334 or online at www.lawredress.com for a free consultation. By doing so you will let the best Westchester County traffic ticket attorney work for you. New York traffic Lawyer Elisa Claro, Esq. has handled thousands of traffic tickets throughout New York, including Westchester County - Yonkers, Tarrytown, White Plains. Let us set you up for success, call today!

CONTACT US FOR A FREE TRAFFIC CONSULTATION
Contact Us